As installed, Oracle ATG Web Commerce defines four standard logging levels:




Represents fault conditions that indicate an immediate problem.

Default: Log all error messages.


Represents fault conditions that might indicate a future problem.

Default: Log all warning messages.


Represents events that occur during the normal operation of the component. For instance, server messages indicating handled requests are usually sent as Info messages.

Default: Log all info messages.


Represents events specific to the internal workings of the component that should only be needed for debugging situations.

Default: Do not log debug messages.

A log source can emit logging events at one or more of these levels. Individual components can enable or disable logging messages at any level through the Boolean properties loggingError, loggingWarning, loggingInfo, and loggingDebug. These components must implement the following methods:

public void setLoggingError (boolean loggingError);
public boolean isLoggingError ();
public void setLoggingWarning (boolean loggingWarning);
public boolean isLoggingWarning ();
public void setLoggingInfo (boolean loggingInfo);
public boolean isLoggingInfo ();
public void setLoggingDebug (boolean loggingDebug);
public boolean isLoggingDebug ();

Before sending a log message, a component should check whether logging is enabled for that log message’s level, in order to avoid unnecessary overhead. For example:

// Log an error
if (isLoggingError ()) {
  // create and broadcast the logging message